//
you're reading...
Beer

Schweinhund

[tweetmeme] It’s not every day you come across a beer called ‘pig-dog’, so when Schweinhund was recommended to me at my local Prince Wine Store I found it hard to resist.

Schweinhund is brewed by Brewboys, a microbrewery in metropolitan Adelaide, South Australia. I am yet to taste anything by these boy who brew, who have a catalog spanning: Ace of Spades stout, Maiden Ale amber, Schweinhund hefeweizen and the aptly named, Seeing Double “Scottish Wee Heavy”.

Cloudy and yellow to amber in colour, this wheat beer pours beautifully. With plenty of head and a lively fizz it’s inviting – almost pleading with you – to take a drink. But before I can do that, I must throw my ample nose into the glass for a whiff.

Thankfully I did. The nose is ripe with banana, caramel and an almost bready smell. True to style for a good German wheat beer.

The palate is again banana, slight caramel undertone and even some tropical fruit. Quite crisp and very short, almost a little too short. Either way, a very tasty beer and a great example of a hefeweizen.

So next time you’re at your local, keep a look out for Schweinhund and the other brews on offer from the Brewboys. I’m not sure of the name, but I am sure of the beer.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Schweinhund

  1. I used to hate wheat beer, but am definitely coming around to it: it’s refreshing in the heat. I tried one recently that I absolutely chugged down with gusto.

    Just trying to remember what German-style wheat beer I had at Red Hill that had banana as a note in it. When they told me at the time I thought “sounds vile!” but was oh so pleasantly surprised when I drank it. Very, very nice.

    Posted by Snarkattack | January 17, 2010, 7:08 pm
    • Yeah, I must admit that I wasn’t a fan of the banana-like characteristic of some wheat beers to begin with, and to be honest I’m still not a fan if it’s too strong. However I have grown to really like a subtle banana taste/aroma.

      Posted by Grant | January 17, 2010, 10:52 pm
  2. Thanks for the heads up, the next time I am at the Ed I will try a pint or two……………..!!!
    Cheers,
    BM

    Posted by lilyandroo | January 18, 2010, 10:22 pm
  3. The Red Hill Wheat Beer is a German Style Hefeweizen meaning “cloudy wheat” beer. The banana aroma comes from particular yeast and the higher brewing temp to make this beer. You will notice this character in all German Hefeweizens or Kristalweizen (clear or filtered wheat beers). You won’t find this character in Belgian witbiers which are wheat beers too. SimonL

    Posted by backseatbarista | April 20, 2010, 6:36 am

Leave a Reply

Social Networks

RSS Recent Brews

